Most mornings I (steve) ride right to the shop from home.  It is about a mile and a half, and my route takes me through no traffic lights, past no gas stations, and through mostly little traffic.  I love it!  Some days, though, like yesterday, I like to take the long way.  I was pressed to fit a ride in, so I just rolled south of town on my Touring Townie for an extra hour of peace and maybe a bit of fitness, too.

STP82384

Out of town bike path along the Iowa River.

STP82385

The open road, the beans and the corn.

STP82386

Pretty wildflower filled ditches.

STP82387

North by Northwest?  Nope, due South, and my turnaround.

STP82388

About 5 miles down Sand Road I stopped by the new home of the Iowa City Animal Shelter.  It was relocated after last years floods and this is where the money from the July Your Change Can Make a Difference Can is heading.  It is up to around $25.00 now for the dogs and cats, with still a week to go.  Should help keep them in kibble for a day or two.

It was a great ride, keeping the pace mellow kept me cool and I got an effective workout in, on the way to work with no skin tight clothing, special shoes, etc.  If you have the time and inclination I highly recommend the long way to work.

